Skip to main content

One Act Play Advances to Area!

Posted Date: 03/24/2022

One Act Play Advances to Area!


One Act Play Advances to Area!

Savoy One Act Play has advanced to Area! The cast and crew have shown tremendous fortitude and perseverance in their rehearsal process and at contests. At District competition in Waxahachie, students worked together during the show making critical last-minute adjustments and succeeded in performing a great show in under 40 minutes (37:30). Savoy placed 2nd and 6 students won awards. At Bi-District in Sulphur Springs, more eleventh-hour adjustments were made and students pulled it off beautifully without having a chance to practice the new changes beforehand. Savoy placed 2nd and 4 students won awards.

Savoy will perform at Area contest at Grayson College on Saturday, April 2, 2022. Contest performances, judge critiques, and awards ceremony are open to the public and free of charge. You are invited to support your Savoy One Act Play team! Exact showtimes will be posted on the Savoy ISD Facebook page.

Shipwrecked! An Entertainment: The Amazing Adventures of Louis de Rougemont tells the grand tale of Louis De Rougemont, a famous adventurer who gets lost on the high seas and ultimately ends up seeing fantastic things and meeting exotic people. The story is told to the audience by Louis himself as a supporting cast assists in live reenactments. Shipwrecked! by Donald Margulies brings the joy of storytelling alive, and questions whether a story being real or fabricated makes the journey any less treasured.

Savoy Award Winners:

District Competition, March 2, 2022:

Outstanding Actor: Matthew Catchings

Outstanding Actress: Brylie Leach

All Star Cast: Vaden Wood

Honorable Mention: Tabitha Baecht

Honorable Mention: Ethan Webb

Honor Crew: Hannah Brooks (Light Board)

Bi-District Competition, March 18, 2022:

Outstanding Actor: Matthew Catchings

All Star Cast: Tabitha Baecht

Honorable Mention: Brylie Leach

Honor Crew: Cai Morrison (Stage Manager)


Pictured left to right -

Back Row – Cason Hagood, Vaden Wood, Chris Miller, Jacob Lawson, Ethan Webb, Caleb Horn, Mason Merryman, Matthew Catchings, Seth Simpson

Middle row – Kenli Hardy, Kyrsten Hall, Adriana Amaya, Brylie Leach, Cassie Morrison, Abbi Murphy

Front Row – Hannah Brooks, Mia Galvan, Sarah Gilliland, Tabitha Baecht

Seated – SHS Director Lorie Cutler